Release details
Tender Trap - Ten Songs About Girls

1. King's Cross Station
2. MBV
3. Could This Be The Last Time?
4. Leaving Christmas Day
5. Step One
6. Memorabilia
7. Mayday
8. Ode
9. Broken Doll

Fortuna POP! are proud to present Ten Songs about Girls, the new album from Tender Trap. Over the course of its ten vignettes on being female in this day and age it taps into larger questions about love, death, gender politics and the nature of existence, all delivered with a huge dose of humour, joy and warmth.

Lead by indie legend and feminist icon Amelia Fletcher (formerly of Talulah Gosh and Heavenly), the band now also includes Emily Bennett from Betty and the Werewolves, replacing Elizabeth Morris from Allo Darlin'. Emily brings another dimension to the band with her ebullient rock guitar playing, fantastic singing, and endless enthusiasm, joining existing members drummer and vocalist Katrina Dixon, John Stanley on guitar and original Heavenly bass player, Robert Pursey.

Ten Songs About Girls is Amelia & Co’s most complete-sounding effort yet, filled to the brim with resounding backing vocals and glorious fuzz. The album’s artwork comes in green, purple and white ¬– the suffragette colours, sharing the original feminists’ concern for aesthetics as well as politics. With three strong female voices on the record, sometimes harmonizing, sometimes calling and responding, sometimes singing alone, Tender Trap draw on the dynamics of the original girl group songs, but aim to show what happens when those girls aren’t in thrall to the male Svengali.

With characteristic insight Tender Trap explore the female experience across the ten songs, from “Broken Doll”, which was written about a recently deceased female pop idol, to “Memorabilia” about a girl crying over the tattered remnants of a now dead love. Or “May Day”, about the long-suffering wife of a scandal-hit Tory MP and “Leaving Christmas Day” about a girl who discovers that her boyfriend is a creationist Christian. Two of the stand out tracks from the album are “Train from Kings Cross Station”, about a fickle girlfriend wanting to return to her lover in Glasgow, but discovering she is trapped in a Shangri-Las lyric (!), and current single “Step One” about three girls whose band is taking the indie world by storm. Just like Tender Trap of course!

The album was recorded at Bark Studios in Walthamstow with producer Brian O’Shaughnessy (Primal Scream, My Bloody Valentine, Saint Etienne) who was gracious enough to tolerate the presence in the studio of The Fire Girls (aged 6 and 8) and recorded their vocals beautifully – and yes, they can be heard on the album. The younger Fire Girl also co-wrote “Step One”. She is demanding a cut of the royalties, but as yet the band haven't worked out if 6 year olds can join the PRS.

Having received considerable critical success for their last album Dansette Dansette, with plaudits from Mojo, Q, The Observer and The Sunday Times, Tender Trap have returned to renewed excitement. Leading the pack of the new wave indie-pop revival, they’ve recently enjoyed prestigious support slots with The Magnetic Fields, including a show at The Royal Festival Hall, wowed Indietracks Festival in July, and played shows in France and Berlin.